Welcome to the UAFT Homepage

UAFT has been representing University Faculty since 1973.

The Union office is located on the UAA campus in Anchorage in the Professional Studies Building, (PSB) room 214. This is the building nearest the intersection of Lake Otis Parkway and 36th Avenue. If you are in Anchorage, please feel free to come by and say hello.

President: Tim Powers, UAS, Juneau
1st Vice President: Patricia Jenkins, UAA, Anchorage
2nd Vice President: Joe Mason, UAF, Nome
Secretary-Treasurer: Nancy Bish, UAA, Anchorage

March 7, 2014

ALRA Decision and Order 301
The decision from the Alaska Labor Relations Agency (ALRA) has finally been rendered.  Here is a link to the decision: ALRA Decision and Order 301.  The UAFT has appealed this decision and a stay of implementation has been approved until the appeal has worked its way through the courts.  Bottom line, using my Coast Guard lingo – proceed as Ops Normal until you hear anything differently.  That means that you will remain a part of UAFT as the appeal process progresses or you are notified otherwise.

New CBA posted
The January 1, 2014 – December 31, 2014 Collective Bargaining Agreement is posted under the "Contract" tab.  The CBA was extended for one year because neither party (the University and UAFT) provided intent to open negotiations as required in Article 1.  Bottom line on this is that UAFT will receive a 2.5% ATB salary increase effective with the first pay period after July 1, 2014, which for most of us is in the fall semester, FY15.

UAFT Officer elections are currently underway.  Those eligible to vote (paid their $10 membership dues) have been sent a link to the ballot for Officer elections. View the candidate information sheets for the candidates:
President: Tim Powers
1st VP: Jane Weber
2nd VP: Joe Mason
Secretary/Treasurer: Nancy Bish, Heather Corriere

The deadline for voting for officers is 4:00 p.m. April 11th. Each campus conducts its own Campus Representative elections.  Please contact your Campus Representative if you have any questions.

Tim Powers
President UAFT, Local 2404